<u>34thDAE Safety & Occupational Health Professionals Meet</u> (Venue: Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project Site <u>Date: June 28-30, 2017)</u>

The 34th DAE Safety & Occupational Health Professionals Meet was jointly organized by Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) and Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL) during June 28-30, 2017 at Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project Site.

Themes for this year's Meet were "Key Principles of Human, Organizational and Technological Factors in Safety" for industrial safety and "Lifestyle diseases – silent killer of the millennium" for occupational health. Shri K. N. Vyas, Director, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), was the Chief Guest of inaugural session of the Meet.

During inaugural session, senior officials fromboth AERB and NPCIL namely Shri S. A. Bhardwaj, Chairman, AERB, Shri S. K. Sharma, CMD, NPCIL, Shri D. K. Shukla, Executive Director, AERB, Shri S. V. Jinna, Site Director (Addl. Charge), Shri S. Jayakrishnan, Chief Construction Engineer, KKNPP-3&4, Shri V. B. Sant, Director General, National Safety Council, who was invited to deliver the prestigious Dr S. S. Ramaswamy Endowment Lecture for the Meet graced the event, in addition to other eminent personalities who graced the event were namely, Shri A. N. Verma, Chief Executive, HWB, Shri R.S. Sundar, Executive Director (O-LWR), NPCIL, Shri P. R. Krishnamurthy, Director, Nuclear Fuel Cycle Regulation Group & Director, OPSD AERB, Shri V.V. Pande, Head, IPSD, AERB, Dr. P.T.V. Nair, Former Head, Medical Division & Chairman, ACOH, AERB.

About 250 delegates from various DAE units & Aided Institutions and exhibitors participated in the Meet.

Welcome Address

Shri S. V. Jinna, Site Director (Addl. Charge), KKNPP & Co-convener of Local Organizing Committee welcomed all distinguished dignitaries, delegates, safety &occupational health professionals from various DAE Units.

🖊 Release of Monograph &About the Meet

Shri D. K. Shukla, Executive Director, AERB, Mumbai released the Monograph highlighting the significance of themes selected for this year's Meet, i.e. "Key principles of human, organizational & technological factors in safety" & "Lifestyle diseases – silent killer of the millennium". In his speech, Shri Shukla underlined the importance of this annual meet in creating a common platform for the safety & operation personnel for sharing knowledge on various evolving aspects of safety and as an opportunity for the regulators to interact with the safety & occupational health professionals for their useful feedback on process of regulation.

Prize Distribution for Logo Competition and Address

Shri S. K. Sharma, Chairman & Managing Director, NPCIL distributed prizes to the winners of logo competitions conducted for the Meet and addressed the gathering.

↓ Industrial Safety& Fire Safety Award Presentation

Industrial Safety Awards and Fire Safety Awards of AERB for year 2016were presented by Shri S.A.Bhardwaj, Chairman, AERB. The Winner units are as follows:

Category/ Group	Winners
Construction Units	Kakrapar Atomic Power Project 3&4
Production Units – I	Madras Atomic Power Station
Production Units-II	NFC-Zirconium Complex, Pazhayakayal
	&
	ECIL-Hyderabad (Joint Winner)
Research Units & other Low Risk Units	Heavy Water Plant - Talcher

Industrial Safety Awards - 2016

Fire Safety Awards – 2016

Category/ Group	Winners
Category-I (High Fire Risk Units)	Kudankulam Nuclear Power Station – 1&2
Category-II (Low Fire Risk Units)	Rajasthan Atomic Power Project – 7&8

After presenting the awards to winner units, Shri S. A. Bhardwaj, Chairman, AERB addressed the gathering.

↓ Release of Technical Proceedings & Inaugural Address

Shri K. N. Vyas, Director, BARC released the compendium of the technical proceedings of the 34thDAE Safety & Occupational Health Professionals Meet and the Souvenir of the Meet. In his inaugural address he touched upon various facets of a good healthy life.

4 Dr. S.S.Ramaswamy Memorial Endowment Lecture

Shri V. B. Sant, Director General, National Safety Council, delivered the prestigious Dr. S. S. Ramaswamy Memorial Endowment Lecture, on "Human and Organizational Factors approach to industrial safety" in line with the topic of the theme w.r.t industrial safety.

Inauguration of Exhibition

Shri K. N. Vyas, Director, BARC inaugurated the Exhibition comprising stalls of various industries displaying their products safety & health and stalls by AERB & BARC highlighting the safety through posters, in the presence of all the dignitaries.

🖊 Technical Programme of the Meet

Three technical sessions were conducted during the Meet which comprised of eight lectures delivered by invited speakers highlighting various aspects of industrial safety and occupational health.

There were five plenary sessions organized during the Meet in which fifteen contributory papers were presented. For the Meet total 44 contributory papers were received (33 on industrial safety and 11 on occupational health related topics).



Inauguration of Exhibition by Shri K. N. Vyas, Director, BARC

(L to R, 2nd onward): Shri P. K. Khare, Head, IS&F, KKNPP, Shri S. R. Bhave, IPSD, AERB, Shri A. S. Vajarekar, Head, IHSS, BARC, Shri K. N. Vyas, Director, BARC, Shri V. V. Pande, Head, IPSD, AERB, Shri S. A. Bhardwaj, Chairman, AERB, Shri D. K. Shukla, ED, AERB.



Dignitaries on Dias

(L to R): Shri S. V. Jinna, Site Director (Addl. Charge), KKNPP, Shri V. B. Sant, Director General, National Safety Council, Shri S. A. Bhardwaj, Chairman, AERB, Shri K. N. Vyas, Director, BARC, Shri S. K. Sharma, CMD, NPCIL, Shri D. K. Shukla, Executive Director, AERB, Shri S. Jayakrishnan, Chief Construction Engineer, KKNPP-3&4.



Lighting of Sacred Lamp during Inauguration

(L to R): Shri K.N. Vyas, Director, BARC, Shri S. A. Bhardwaj, Chairman, AERB, Shri D.K. Shukla, Executive Director, AERB, Shri S.K. Sharma, CMD, NPCIL.



Lighting of Sacred Lamp during Inauguration

(L to R): Shri K.N. Vyas, Director, BARC, Shri S. A. Bhardwaj, Chairman, AERB, Shri V.B. Sant, Director General, National Safety Council, Shri S.V. Jinna, Site Director (Addl. Charge), KKNPP, Shri D.K. Shukla, Executive Director, AERB.



Release of Souvenir

(L to R): Shri K.N. Vyas, Director, BARC, Shri S.K. Sharma, CMD, NPCIL, Shri D.K. Shukla, Executive Director, AERB, Shri S. Jayakrishnan, Chief Construction Engineer, KKNPP-3&4.



Release of DAE Safety Statistics

(L to R): Shri S.V. Jinna, Site Director (Addl. Charge), KKNPP, Shri V.B. Sant, Director General, National Safety Council, Shri S. A. Bhardwaj, Chairman, AERB, Shri K.N. Vyas, Director, BARC, Shri S.K. Sharma, CMD, NPCIL, Shri D.K. Shukla, Executive Director, AERB, Shri S. Jayakrishnan, Chief Construction Engineer, KKNPP-3&4.