39th DAE Safety & Occupational Health Professionals Meet, 2023

The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) Safety & Occupational Health Professionals Meet is conducted every year to emphasise the need for industrial safety and occupational health in the constituent units of Department of Atomic Energy. The yearly meets are generally organised jointly by AERB with a constituent DAE unit and with specific identified themes.

This year the meet was jointly organized by Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) and Uranium Corporation of India Ltd. (UCIL) during December 27-29, 2023, at Narwapahar Site. The themes for this year's Meet were:

- Proactive efforts to maintain the safety culture and Role of technology in enhancement of safety
- Ergonomics and Stress Management

Chairman, AERB inaugurated the meet in presence of other dignitaries namely, Shri C K Asnani, Chairman & Managing Director (UCIL), Shri S Satyakumar, Chairman & Chief Executive (HWB), Shri Pradip Mukherjee, Chief Executive (BRIT), Shri S B Chafle, Executive Director (AERB), Shri Rajesh Kumar, Director (Technical) (UCIL).

AERB Safety Awards for the year 2022 were presented to the following winner DAE units:

AERB Industrial Safety Award-2022	
Group/ Category	Winners
Production Units - I (PU-I)	Kaiga Generating Station 3&4
Production Units - II (PU-II)	Zirconium Complex - Pazhayakayal
Research & Development (R&D) and Other Low Risk Units	Heavy Water Board Facilities- Vadodara

AERB Fire Safety Award-2022	
Group/ Category	Winners
Group-I	Kaiga Generating Station 3&4
Group-II	Kakrapar Atomic Power Project 3&4

Booklets elaborating themes of the Meet, Occupational Injury Statistics & Fire Statistics of DAE units for the year 2022 were released.

Chairman, AERB delivered the Dr. S. S. Ramaswamy Memorial Endowment lecture on the "Developing, Sustaining and Strengthening of Safety Culture" during the meet.

An exhibition showcasing occupational & fire safety related equipment manufactured by various private industries was also arranged during the Meet. Stalls of AERB, UCIL, BARC & AMD were also showcased in the exhibition.

Around 100 delegates from various DAE units & aided institutes participated in this meet in-person while 40 attended through on-line mode.

Distinguished speakers from the field of industrial safety and occupational health delivered talks which proved to be of immense value to the audience.



Shri Dinesh Kumar Shukla inaugurating the 39th DAE-SOHPM by lighting the lamp



Shri Dinesh Kumar Shukla delivering Dr. S S Ramaswamy Endowment Lecture during 39^{th} DAE-SOHPM



AERB Industrial Safety Award 2022 – Winner Unit - KGS 3&4 (Production Units-I)



AERB Industrial Safety Award 2022 – Winner Unit – Zirconium Complex, Pazhayakayal (Production Units-II)



AERB Industrial Safety Award 2022 – Winner Unit – HWBF-Vadodara (R&D and Other Low Risk Units)



AERB Fire Safety Award 2022 – Winner Unit – KGS 3&4 (Group-I)



AERB Fire Safety Award 2022 – Winner Unit – KAPP 3&4 (Group-II)



Dignitaries releasing the booklet on Occupational Injury and Fire Statistics of DAE Units for the year 2022

(L-R) - Shri Rajesh Kumar, Director (T), UCIL, Shri Dinesh Kumar Shukla, Chairman, AERB, Shri S B Chafle, Executive Director, AERB, Dr. C K Asnani, C&MD, UCIL, Shri S Satyakumar, C&CE, HWB, Dr. Diptendu Das, EIC-IS, OPSD, AERB



Dignitaries present on dais (L-R) - Shri Rajesh Kumar, Director (T), UCIL, Shri Dinesh Kumar Shukla, Chairman, AERB, Shri S B Chafle, Executive Director, AERB, Dr. C K Asnani, C&MD, UCIL, Shri S Satyakumar, C&CE, HWB, Dr. Diptendu Das, EIC-IS, OPSD, AERB