## **PREFACE**

Having completed twenty five glorious years in safety regulation, AERB is celebrating its Silver Jubilee this year. It was indeed in December 2006 that we had started thinking about celebrating the Silver Jubilee Year and invited suggestions from all AERB colleagues to do this in a fitting manner. Among the various suggestions we received, one was to bring out a commemorative volume, covering the history of AERB in the last 25 years. This book is the realization of that suggestion.

AERB was constituted on 15th of November 1983. However, the process of review and verification of safety had been an integral part of the Indian nuclear programme since the beginning. The credit for imbibing this aspect in all the projects and activities related to the use of nuclear energy and radiation sources goes to Dr. Bhabha. He ensured that any new project or activity before being implemented, underwent a safety review to ensure that it did not cause any harm to the worker, public or environment. This informal practice was later converted to a formal process by constitution of a standing expert committee for safety review (SRC) and subsequently to an independent safety regulation by way of formation of AERB.

I joined AERB in 1993. By this time AERB had already been in existence for about 10 years. I was fortunate to come into contact with several stalwarts, who were involved in the regulatory activities not only since the birth of AERB, but even earlier. It was through these interactions that I became aware of the efforts, dedication and foresight of several people, who were instrumental in development and growth of AERB. These interactions also brought to my notice the difficulties they faced during this growth period and the manner in which they were surmounted. I myself was greatly influenced by the hard work, vision and achievements of these architects of AERB and have found motivation and direction for my work in AERB. Going by

my own experience, I have sincerely felt that the current generation of young scientists and engineers of AERB and other organizations dealing with nuclear and radiation facilities, who would not have the benefit of such interactions, will greatly benefit by knowing and learning from the history of safety regulation in the atomic energy programme. It was with this conviction that the project for preparation of this commemorative book was taken up.

Having decided on the history book, an Editorial Committee with Shri A.R. Sundararajan, Former Director, RSD & SRI, AERB; Dr. K.S. Parthasarathy, Former Secretary, AERB; Dr. A.N. Nandakumar, Former Head, RSD, AERB and Shri Soumen Sinha, IPSD, AERB was formed on 26 February 2007 to conceptualize and prepare the Book. This Committee prepared a basic outline of the book and identified possible authors for each topic. The idea was that for each topic or chapter a senior person who has himself been a part of this history would be involved along with some younger AERB person who is dealing with the topic today. We then convened a meeting for apprising the authors about the structure of the book. We got a warm response from all of them. The major inputs to various chapters of the book have been provided by S/Shri S.D. Soman, S.P. Singh, G.K. De, Deepak De, N.K. Jhamb, T. N. Krishnamurthi and D.K. Dave. For chapter on IGCAR facilities the inputs were provided by Dr. Baldev Raj, Shri P. V. Ramalingan and Shri G. Srinivasan. Important contributions have also been made by the Heads and Directors of the Divisions of AERB and SRI and other colleagues in AERB. I would like to place on record my heartfelt gratitude to all of them for providing the essential inputs to these chapters.

The initial drafts that we received were significantly different in their scope, content and style of writing and it was essential to bring in some uniformity and continuity among different chapters. A preliminary editing of the materials was then carried out by Dr. A.N. Nandakumar. The main restructuring and harmonization of the chapters were carried out by Shri A.R. Sundararajan and Dr. K.S.

Parthasarathy. I would like to place on record our gratitude for their enormous efforts. Shri R. Bhattacharya, Head, IPSD was assigned the task for overall co-ordination and publication of the book. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of them for bringing this book to its final shape.

The final round of scrutiny and polishing of the chapters was carried out by Shri S. K. Sharma, Chairman AERB. His emphasis on minute details is reflected all through the book. We always had the encouragement and support of Shri Sharma from the day one. I acknowledge his involvement with all gratitude.

The editorial team had selected about hundred photographs covering the important events in entire span of the last twenty five years. I have personally gone through each one of those nostalgic photographs and have selected fifty photographs among them for this book. I hope the photographs bring back the memories of the bygone days and also inspire the future generation.

To mark the start of the Silver Jubilee Year of AERB, we had organized a function on 23rd November 2007 when the Niyamak Bhavan-B building was also inaugurated. We had invited Dr. Anil Kakodkar, Chairman, AEC and all the past Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of AERB. It was a very memorable moment for all of us and in order to share their profound thoughts, their speeches have been transcribed and added to this volume.

This book gives a brief historic account of the evolution of Atomic Energy Regulatory Board from birth to its coming of age. AERB has been a unique organization. Since its inception, it has been catering to strenuous demands of wide ranging technologies. It has also a great societal responsibility. In discharging its mandate, it derived its strength by pooling the best professionals in the country. It had been led by stalwarts, who had their own rich experience in building and nurturing renowned institutions and had distinct styles of

administration. Clearly it is a daunting task to give a creditable account of its history marked by constant flux of persons and projects and regular agenda of issues and events. Although not a comprehensive volume, the book gives glimpses of the days gone by, the challenges faced and the way they were resolved during this long journey of 25 years.

This book is for all those who are in someway connected to the nuclear industry, in particular to the regulation of its safety. To those who have been part of AERB's activities, this will bring back delightful memories of their proud association. And to the younger generation engaged in regulatory activities, tracing the history of AERB's maturing towards an eminent status, will provide inspiration and motivation to continue on this path to achieve excellence. It is rightly said that looking back helps one to look clearly into the future.

S. K. Chande Vice Chairman, AERB