Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) signs Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Government of Arunachal Pradesh for setting up of Directorate of Radiation Safety (DRS) in Arunachal Pradesh

Diagnostic radiology facilities utilizing X-ray units are widely available in the country and large numbers of people undergo diagnostic X-ray procedures every year in these units. AERB reviews and assesses the X-ray machines for its proper design and operation in these X-ray units. Various regulatory requirements are stipulated by AERB for such X-ray facilities.

Due to tremendous increase in medical diagnostic installations using medical x-rays in the country, a decision was taken to decentralize the regulation of these units by setting up a Directorate of Radiation Safety in States by signing MoU with State Governments and Union Territories. Accordingly, the DRS in two states viz.; Kerala and Mizoram are fully functional presently. The MoU has been signed in eight states viz. Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Punjab, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Maharashtra and Odisha.

Today, Shri R. Bhattacharya, Secretary, AERB and Smt. Indra Mallo, Secretary, Department of Health and Family Welfare, Government of Arunachal Pradesh signed a MoU to set-up a DRS in Arunachal Pradesh.