AERB recognises outstanding achievements of its Staff

In recognition of the excellent team work for successful handling of Mayapuri Radiological Incident of March 2010 and enforcement of regulatory actions by Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) in this incident, Chairman, AERB conferred AERB Group Achievement Award on the team from Radiological Safety Division of AERB. The investigation carried out by this group was the turning point of the entire episode. The effort of the group had helped to mitigate the radiological consequences at Mayapuri. It will be recalled that this incident in March 2010 had occurred when a gamma cell containing radionuclide Cobalt-60 was unauthorizedly disposed off in Mayapuri scrap metal market in Delhi. The team was instrumental in quick investigation, safe retrieval of all radioactive sources and subsequent clean-up of the affected areas.

AERB Award Scheme, formulated for AERB Personnel to promote excellence in Regulatory Work and/or associated Research and Development work, consists of a medal, citation and cash amount. Individual categories of award are the Meritorious Service award, Young Scientific Officer Award, Outstanding Performance Award, Leadership Award and Group Achievement Award. The awards for the year 2011 were presented on December 8, 2012 at a function in Mumbai.

The other Group Achievement Awards were given in recognition of successfully accomplishing Seismic Re-evaluation of Fast Breeder Test Reactor (FBTR), Industrial & Fire Safety Review of nuclear facilities, Regulatory Inspection of Operating Nuclear Power Plants (NPPs) and Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research (IGCAR) facilities and Safety Review of Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project.

Individual awards were also conferred on the occasion.

Smt. Sumambika Panickar, Administration Division and Shri Shamrao Swaminath Bhoite, Information & Technical Services Division received the 'Meritorious Service Award'. Kum. Arti Kulkarni, Radiological Safety Division and Shri Soumen Sinha, Industrial Plants Safety Division received the 'Young Scientific Officer Award'. Shri P.R. Krishnamurthy, Director, Operating Plants Safety Division and Shri A. D. Roshan, Siting & Structural Engineering Division received the 'Outstanding Performance Award'. Dr. P. K. Dash Sharma, Radiological Safety Division received the 'Leadership Award'.

Shri R. Bhattacharya, Secretary, AERB & Director, Industrial Plants Safety Division & Information & Technical Services Division received the 'Leadership Award' (for higher category), in recognition of his outstanding contribution in efficiently looking after the conduct of the affairs of the Board of AERB, and providing high level of leadership in assigned areas.

AERB Outstanding Achievement Awards



Smt. Sumambika Panickar, Administration Division receiving the 'Meritorious Service Award'.



Shri Shamrao Swaminath Bhoite, Information & Technical Services Division receiving the 'Meritorious Service Award'.



Kum. Arti Kulkarni, Radiological Safety Division receiving the 'Young Scientific Officer Award'.



Shri Soumen Sinha, Industrial Plants Safety Division receiving the 'Young Scientific Officer Award'.



Shri P.R. Krishnamurthy, Director, Operating Plants Safety Division receiving the 'Outstanding Performance Award'.



Shri A. D. Roshan, Siting & Structural Engineering Division receiving the 'Outstanding Performance Award'.



Dr. P. K. Dash Sharma, Radiological Safety Division received the 'Leadership Award'.



Shri R. Bhattacharya, Secretary, AERB & Director, Industrial Plants Safety Division & Information & Technical Services Division received the 'Leadership Award' (for higher category)

Group Achievement Awards



Mayapuri Incident Review team from RSD, AERB



Seismic Re-evaluation of Fast Breeder Test Reactor (FBTR), SSED-SRI-ITSD



Industrial & Fire Safety Review of Nuclear Facilities, IPSD, AERB



Regulatory Inspection of Operating NPPs and IGCAR facilities, OPSD, AERB



Safety Review of Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project, NPSD, AERB



From left: S/Shri S. Duraisamy, Vice-chairman, AERB, S. Markendeya, Controller, BARC, S.K. Chande, Ex-Vice-chairman, AERB, S.S. Bajaj, Chairman, AERB & Smt. Bajaj