India's Nuclear Regulator completes forty years

Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) is the national regulatory authority to enforce nuclear and radiation safety regulations in the country, which was constituted on November 15, 1983. Over the years it has grown into an organization of international and national repute.

On completion of forty years, AERB celebrated its ruby jubilee anniversary on 15th November, 2023 to capture the experience of introspection and transformation in the last four decades. Stalwarts of Indian nuclear fraternity came together to extend their wishes to AERB on this momentous occasion. Dr A.K. Mohanty, Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission, Shri Vivek Bhasin, Director, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, former Chiefs of Atomic Energy Commission Dr R. K. Sinha and Dr. K. N. Vyas, former Chairpersons of Atomic Energy Regulatory Board Shri S. S. Bajaj and Shri S.A. Bhardwaj, esteemed AERB Board members Prof. Harsh Gupta and Prof. Lakshmi Kantam along with other distinguished luminaries expressed happiness over the progress made by AERB during the glorious four decades. They also provided their insights on the future challenges and expressed their confidence in AERB's capabilities to meet these challenges.

"With fortified beliefs and renewed perspective, AERB is all prepared for future challenges", said Shri D.K. Shukla, Chairman, AERB in his concluding remarks.



Dignitaries present during celebration of AERB Day 2023 (L to R): Shri S.B.Chafle, Executive Director; AERB, Shri S.A. Bhardwaj, Former Chairman, AERB; Shri S.S.Bajaj, Former, Chairman, AERB; Shri D.K.Shukla, Chairman, AERB; Shri S.K. Mehta, Member, Advisory Panel, AERB; Dr.A.K.Mohanty, Chairman, AEC; Shri G.R.Srinivasan, Former Vice Chairman, AERB; Dr.R.K.Sinha, Former, Chairman, AEC; Prof. Lakshmi Kantam, Board Member, AERB; Dr.K.N.Vyas, Former, Chairman, AEC; Shri V. Bhasin, Director, BARC